‘Eggs’actly what I need!

Apologies about the cheesy title but I just couldn’t resist!

20140330_213516

So I know I should make lunch for work because a) it saves me money, b) saves me money and c) saves me money. Plus side obviously because I cooked the food, I know what is in there but I am soo lazy I can’t be bothered! Oops!

 

Someone mentioned that they bake a vegetable omelette on sunday night and they eat it for breakfast and lunch for about 2 days after. So this got me thinking (which is not a good idea), ..something I could cook that would save me time in the morning and money overall…HELLOOO got to try this!

I knew the basic recipe but true ‘khannablog’ style I like to improvise. This recipe is actually a really good way of getting rid of vegetables or anything that needs to be used up, so that’s exactly what I did. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • Box of mushrooms
  • 2 red peppers
  • A bunch of spring onions
  • Half a broccoli
  • A bunch of coriander
  • 5 eggs

Now what:

1) Chop all the vegetables (slice or chop – it doesn’t matter really).

20140330_204854

2) Add oil (approx 1/2 tsp) into a frying pan and once it is hot add all the vegetables.

3) Put the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

3) Season to taste – I tend to add a bit more seasoning then I would normally to a vegetable stir fry. For this dish I added half a vegetable stock cube, salt, pepper, mixed spice, dash of lemon juice and dried chilli flakes.

20140330_205412

4) Let the vegetables cook until they are soft-ish (probably about 10/15 mins) this depends on the types of vegetables you use. Season to taste again

5) While this is cooking, whisk 5 eggs and add a dash of milk. Add a pinch of salt and I like to add a few more chilli flakes here (love my chilli!)

6) Tip all the cooked vegetables into a small/medium oven dish and spread them around. Now add the egg mixture making sure it covers the bottom of the pan.

20140330_210750

7) Sprinkle coriander (spinach leaves are a nice substitute here) onto the mixture.

8) Pop the mixture in the oven and let it cook for about 25 mins (or until the mixture turns a golden brown).

 

This recipe is so flexible and can be substituted with a number of different things such as kidney beans, chicken, cheese etc.

Hey presto! Done – either eat it then or wait till it cools, cut and put in a box for lunch! Even the weird boot camp nutrition rules could say yes to this! Healthy, easy and time efficient and of course yummy! YAY

20140330_213516 (1)

Let me know what you think.

Much love

Khannablog xxx

P.S- don’t forget to check my twitter account: @khannablog

~ by khannablog on April 1, 2014.

6 Responses to “‘Eggs’actly what I need!”

  1. Looks lush!

  2. Yumm! This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. No problem – it really helped me with time in the morning and my laziness 🙂

  4. Totally agree with your three reasons plus the added advantage of time saving and nutrition 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  5. No problem 🙂

Leave a comment