The Grandma special #2 – Spud you Stud!

Before I start blabbering, I wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone who visits, reads and follows my blog. I now have over 100 followers, which to me is amazing so thank you very much :). I love all your comments and messages so keep them coming.

Image

Welcome to the second edition of my ‘Home therapies’ series inspired by my (late) amazing grandma.

2) Home made tricks to reduce dark circles.

I remember my grandma always saying that the best remedy for anything Β is always using something nature has provided.

Dark circles has always been an issue for me and my sister, I think this is unfortunately a hereditary defect that has been with both me and my sister since our late teens (late late nights at uni for pretty much 3 years didn’t help ;)). To be honest, I have only recently started to dabble in the concealer and eye brightening make up bits and bobs but before this there was…the humble spud trick.

She would always say the best way to get rid/reduce dark circles was to: 1) of course get enough sleep, 2) not spend too much time gazing at a monitor and… 3) by using thin slices of potato.

What you need:

Any raw potato type

What now?

(This is usually best done before bed)

Thinly slice the potato, about 4 slices (the thinner the better), 2 slices per eye. Rub the 1/2 slice around the eye so all the potato juice is on the areas that you do not like/darker shade, this needs to be done on both eyes. Place the last two slices on top of your eyes before falling asleep or for half an hour before you go to bed, then remove and sleep soundly :).

The potato juice helps reduce the darkness (sorry -I do not know the exact science behind this) and the slices on top of the eyes cool the eyes and in fact reduce any puffiness. This does not work immediately but after daily use for about 2 weeks the effects are hugely noticeable!! – Thank you very much Grandma! This tip is very inexpensive and time efficient, it does not involve a multitude of night time rituals; really it is: Slice, Wipe and Leave πŸ™‚ simples

Move aside make up, the humble SPUD STUD is where it is at! It actually produces much better and of course natural results than any make up I have used. πŸ™‚ I must confess I do not use this dark circle trick as much as I should, mainly because I am super lazy but I do try to do a couple of weeks before I have a holiday or event coming up πŸ™‚ All I know is, that this trick most definitely works, it does not get rid of them altogether because nothing can actually truly do that but it does make the darker areas fade and give a more even and brighter tone.

mr-potato-head

FYI: If you fall asleep with the slices on just be aware you will find shriveled up potato slices saying hello when you wake up :).

(A small new potato can last up to a week in the fridge if solely used for this purpose, otherwise 1/4 or 1/2 a large potato can last up to 2 weeks. The left over potatoes can always be thrown in to your cooking πŸ™‚

Let me know if you try this.

Much love khannablog xxx

P.S – Don’t forget to follow me on twitter for random tweets about food, beauty and life πŸ™‚

(All pictures used are taken from Google images)

~ by khannablog on April 15, 2014.

2 Responses to “The Grandma special #2 – Spud you Stud!”

  1. I’ve heard of this before but never tried it.. The smell of raw potato bother me lol.

    http://forvanityssake.com/

Leave a Reply

 
