The Grandma special #1 – softly, softly…

So this is my first post in my ‘Home therapies’ series which will include food and beauty bits and bobs. This series is inspired by my amazingly beautiful grandmother who passed away recently; she was an advocate for organic, home-made beauty and food! Great for me, not so much for my belly! 😦

images (4)

 

 

1) Home-made face mask – soft and calm skin.

I think this is one of the first beauty advice my grandmother gave me when I was about 15 (when I had absolutely no interest in doing anything for myself except for eating pizza, snickers and refreshers (anyone remember those?) and watching the matrix)! But thank you grandma, it bloody works!

This very simple, home-made mask can be made with few house hold ingredients, little/no elbow grease and makes the skin lovely and smooth and calms the skin if you are having a bad skin day or feel you need to give it a break from every day life, make up etc.

What you need:

  • Yoghurt (any type)
  • Lemon juice (fresh or bottled; fresh better)
  • Honey

What now?

  • 1/2 tsps of yoghurt into a bowl
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of honey

Mix all together and on a cleansed and freshly washed face apply the mask with either fingers or brush (whatever you prefer). If you have some left over in the bowl this usually keeps for a week or so πŸ™‚

It usually takes a couple of minutes to dry – it is a transparent colour which is always good. I don’t have a recommended time to keep it on but I usually take it off after about 20 mins or so.

Wash off as you do normally and I kid you not, your skin will feel a lot smoother than it was before and what I have found is if you keep this up every week – it gets better and better. You will find yourself stroking your own face (yes I have done this – epic fail on the train!) so beware! πŸ™‚

Let me know if you try it πŸ™‚

Much love Khannablog xxx

~ by khannablog on March 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
