Food Glorious Food

Happy New Year everyone and hope you all had a nice time off.

So this post is a bit of a rant about food and feeling guilty about eating sweet, savoury…well anything that has not been labelled as near zero calories. All I hear nowadays ( I know it is the time of year) is how everyone has eaten so much and how they should cut out all the things they enjoy!

angry-child

Why should we all feel guilty about eating a few biscuits, a packet of crisps or a chocolate bar and yes over the holiday period I am sure everyone has eaten more food, snacks and drink than they would usually but what is this such a bad thing? These holidays only come once a year, so in the grand scheme of a year – 2/3 weeks out of 12 months is not a very long time! So why moan and obsess?

Even today my family were moaning about how bad they feel eating 1 donut and/or 1 biscuits with their tea even though they enjoy eating them?! I am by no means saying that eating food that is considered ‘bad’ twenty four seven is good for your health, in fact it is the complete opposite but I think we all need to get some perspective on how we live our lives.

angry-face1

My new year’s resolution or MOTO is : If you treat your body well, it will look after you!

So I am not going to obsess over eating a chocolate bar or a biscuit at work, but I am not going to go overboard and  just carry on eating them if they are nearby. I will exercise as often as I can but not beat myself up if I do not do it, either because I am tired or can’t be bothered. I will eat food that makes me happy, healthy and feel energised most of the time but also eat food that is not healthy and heavy sometimes and not feel guilty about it. This MOTO also includes exercising my mind (reading more books, papers, articles and to complete some courses in my spare time (online ones are brilliant for this).

The majority of my late teens was devoted to getting thin, this involved calorie counting and exercising twice a day (getting up at 5am for a morning run). This was not a life, this very quickly became an unhealthy obsession with food, my body image and trying to be perfect in every way.

Now that I am older and wiser (hopefully) I just want to have a healthy relationship with food, exercise and trying to remain healthy which to me means two things; 1) get fit and eating a balanced meal, increase my stamina, work the muscles in my body and 2) possibly lose some weight as a result – I do not want to suffer when I am older. I  think due to family health and lifestyle related problem I have been spurred on to think more…FIT and HEALTHY rather than SKINNY and OBSESSIVE.

As a foodie, I love eating, I love trying new things, I love dessert but also savoury things – in fact I just love food and I don’t want that to change for the world. I want to eat the things I love (scones with clotted cream and jam) and not feel I need to work out as soon a possible, eat less the next day or guilty – no none of that nonsense please! If I eat it, I eat it because I enjoy it but on the flip side I will not eat it every day because a) the amount of clotted cream I eat will surely clot my arteries and b) it will not enjoy it as much (I do not want it to ever feel like that!).

I am by no means a nutritionist or a medical doctor but this is just something I have learned over the years of being slightly bigger than average and always feeling bad about what I had eaten.

So to come to the long and short of this huge rant (sorry) – just be healthy and happy. success_baby

Rant over! 🙂

Let me know your thoughts on this topic and if anyone has any similar experiences.

Khannablog xxx

(pictures taken from google images).

~ by khannablog on January 4, 2014.

2 Responses to “Food Glorious Food”

  1. That’s a great moto! I was also obsessed with my weight for a while, as well. When I was larger, I used to obsess about food, if I had eaten too much, if I had eaten too much junk food, not enough veggies or fruit… It all revolved around food. When I started just making a different choice some days, like taking a fruit to uni instead of a chocolate bar just once or twice a week, or having green beans for dinner instead of fried potatoes, it snowballed from there.
    I now try to listen to my body rather than just try to control it and exercise a few times a week and I feel much better than I have in years!

  2. […] Food Glorious Food de Khanna Blog: quizás la respuesta al problema de la comida no sea centrarse en el hecho de comer más o menos cantidad, ni más o menos sano, sino de mejorar nuestra relación con la comida y con nosotros mismos. […]

Leave a Reply

 
