Paramount

PARAMOUNTCentre Point, 101-103 New Oxford Street, London, WC1A 1DD

(This review was written retrospectively, I attended around May ’12).

I picked this restaurant as I was trying to find somewhere exciting, different and on the expensive side to go to with the other half for a special occasion. I had been looking at the Oxo tower but after reading a few reviews about the food decided to give it a miss. So I tried to look for a restaurant that seemed similar with regards to showing a great view of London plus not horrible food reviews.

The restaurant seemed quite exclusive and trendy so decided to dress up (not a good idea considering the night we went, it started to snow quite heavily)! However there were the odd couple wearing casual clothes but majority of clothes ware for men and women was smart and dressy in the restaurant.

The Centre Point building itself, which hosts this restaurant had a very big lobby, where we were directed to the lifts for the restaurant. This big, very minimalist lobby had staff that took care of our coats and gave a very ‘exclusive club’ impression which I quite liked. I mean who doesn’t want to feel exclusive and high-end?

Once we arrived on the restaurant floor we were directed to a table towards the south-east area of the restaurant. (I had to book in advance but only 2/3 days for a table for 2). Although the seats we had been given were not up against the big, glass windows we were still able to get a great surround view of the city. Unfortunately for us, this did not last long as the weather was awful that night (thick fog and eventually snow) which clouded most of the view.

This restaurant had a great, relaxed but very chic ambience. The décor was a bit on the dark side, with low lighting – which did not help when taking pictures but understandable due to the view and lights that came from the surrounding buildings. I think on a better night, with regards to the weather – the décor and lights may not have seemed too bad. The staff were friendly and helpful and the music not too loud, which was great because we were able to have a nice chat.

The first criticism I do have though is the seating. Surrounded by the view of London, the décor, ambience and menu I expected a more comfortable chair and a larger table, at times I felt my elbows fall off the edge of the table whilst eating and talking (not impressive if you are on a date and a bit embarrassing).

The menu looked exciting but a bit disappointing due to the limited vegetarian options. For the starters I chose a seafood starter and my partner had a chicken dish. For mains, my partner and I had different fish dishes…unfortunately these dishes are not on the menu anymore (as paramount changes its menu on a daily basis).

Both the dishes I had and I also tried some of my partner’s, were excellent, the best food I have ever sampled. Tasty, aesthetically pleasing, very more-ish and very impressive! Ashamedly I didn’t have very high expectations about the food here, which was judged solely on the reviews of the Oxo tower restaurant which, I think worked in my favour. I was blown away by the food! We also shared a selection of chocolate desserts (my choice – obviously!) which again was good, not as tasty as the main meal and starters but a cute end to the meal.

After the meal we decided to visit the bar on the top-level of the building. The bar was a little cramp most probably because it was packed out. The view from the bar was incredibly (despite the snow), very romantic and awe-inspiring. The atmosphere in the bar was fun and flirty, so the bar also gets a thumbs up from me.

Verdict: Definitely, definitely would go again despite the menu changing.

I am excited to try new things that they will present on the menu. I would also love to spend some more time in the bar.

Great for a special occasion.

  • Food: 9/10 (only putting 9 because nothing has topped this restaurant food to date and I’m optimistic (hoping) that I may find something even better J)
  • Ambience: relaxed, romantic and chic.
  • Decor: stylish but a bit dark (not great for photo happy people)
  • Service: friendly and helpful
  • Value for money: This restaurant was expensive but considering it has been the best food I have ever tasted to date – I think it is good value.

(2 starters, 2 mains, 1 desert + drinks (non-alcoholic) = £111 approximately (including service charge of 12.5%)

 

~ by khannablog on September 20, 2012.

One Response to “Paramount”

  1. […] Paramount. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

 
